You are here

Content

History of Research on the Archeology of the Beilngries region

Archaeological research began early in Beilngries. At the end of the 18th century, the Beilngries native Dr.Franz Anton Mayer was active in this field, and around 1900 it was the Medical Council Theodor Thenn. In 1964, Walter Torbrugge published an archaeological site chronicle. Extensive excavations have been carried out recently in connection with the construction of the Rhine-Main-Danube Canal.

Dr. Franz Anton Mayer

Pioneer of archeology in Bavaria

Priest, excavator and researcher at the Roman Limes

A son of the town of Beilngries

Franz Anton Mayer was born in Beilngries in July 1773 as the eldest child of Franz and Margareta Mayer, née Frueth. He grew up on the Ziegler estate. In the 1780s he came to the seminary in Eichstätt, where he got in touch with Prof. Ignatz Pickel. In 1788 he apparently participated in excavations of a grave mound in the forest department Pelzerfelder near Pietenfeld / Weissenkirchen. In 1791 he was involved in the excavation of four grave mounds in the woods west of Beilngries. He reports about this in detail, to his mentor Pickel. In Rome, where the bishop sent him to study in 1795, he acquired the doctorate and gained extensive historical knowledge, especially on Roman numismatics. His main work is the "Exact description of the Roman border wall, known as Teufelsmauer. As pastor of Gelbelsee he walked along the Bavarian part of the (Rhaetian) Limes and described it in detail.

Pickel conducted a series of burial mound investigations, each of which he reported accurately about. After his time in Gelbelsee he became pastor of St. Walburg in Eichstätt. He spent his last years in Munich, where he died on 4 May 1854 and was buried in the southern cemetery. He bequeathed his collection to the Kingdom of Bavaria. The archaeological findings are now kept in the Archaeological State Collection.

The Ziegler estate in Beilngries. Painting of the birthplace of Dr. Franz Anton Mayer
Handwritten letter of the scholar Franz Anton Mayer to his teacher in Eichstätt, Prof. Ignatz Pickel. On October 6, 1791, he announced his participation in investigations of burial mounds in the woods near Paulushofen.
Handwritten record
Copper engraving from a work by Franz Anton Mayer with discoveries from a burial mound in the woods near Irfersdorf
Gravestone of Franz Anton Mayer at the southern cemetery in Munich
 

To top

Medizinalrat Dr. med. Theodor Thenn

Grave plate of the honorary citizen Dr. Theodor Thenn and his wife at Beilngries cemetery

When Theodor Thenn settled in Beilngries, he already had relevant experience in excavating monuments. The first activities in Beilngries date from 1897, in 1899 it was the first tombs of the Hallstatt period, which awoke his interest. He had contact with the Prehistoric State Collection from the beginning, but the collaboration was difficult. According to research by Walter Torbrügge, Thenn discovered more than 100 tombs of Hallstatt until 1917. Although he was interested in other findings, he pursued them only on a case-by-case basis. In some caves he carried out sample excavations or uncovered the burials of a row grave field "Im Oehl.”

To top

Biography Theodor Thenn – according to Walter Torbrügge

Theodor Thenn

Theodor Thenn was born on January 28, 1842 in Augsburg. He studied medicine in Erlangen and Berlin and received his doctorate degree at the university of Erlangen in 1867 with top grades. After a short assistantship at the Augsburg Hospital in 1868, he passed the state examination in Munich with the second highest grade. From 1869 to 1875, he successively worked in Bobingen, Schwabmuenchen, Goeggingen, Augsburg Unterschwaningen and Dinkelsbühl, as a practical doctor. Then he remained in Wassertrüdingen, district of Dinkelsbühl until 1889, where he also took over the office of a district medical deputy. Beilngries was his last stop. On July 15, 1889, he received his appointment as district doctor 1st class, and was awarded the title of Medizinalrat in 1905. On 25 May 1915 he retired, under the highest acknowledgment of his merits. However, he won the respect of his fellow citizens less by extraordinary achievements than by honest performance of duty to the best of his knowledge and belief. He died as honorary citizen of the town, after having suffered from an illness for a long time on 4 November 1919 in Beilngries.

To top

Theodor Thenn was neither a historian nor an archaeologist. Evaluating the activity of earlier excavators in retrospect, the verdict is not quite flattering. For instance, Heinrich Schliemann in Troy has destroyed more than documented. Nowadays Theodor Thenn would be called a "contract grave robber", since he was an enterprising seller of his excavation findings, according to the documents. Today these treasures are kept in the Archaeological State Collection. Walter Torbrügge reports extensively on the activities of Theodor Thenn (see literature) in his publication of 1964.

To top

Walter Torbrügge 1964

Balance sheet of Beilngries's find areas by Walter Torbrügge

When the prehistorian Walter Torbrügge wrote his works on the Hallstatt period and the Bronze Age in the Upper Palatinate, he had the opportunity to publish the find areas around Beilngries as a monograph.

He devoted himself to this meritorious work and summarized all the information he could gather until 1964. Basically, this publication is a first presentation of "exhibits", that were actually no longer available on site, no longer "observable".

Walter Torbrugge (1923 - 1994)

 

Walter Torbrügge (1923 - 1994)

To top

Main Danube Canal, industrial areas, urban regeneration

Footing of the round tower at the foremost mountain spur of Hirschberg Castle

In the 1970s, a large amount of land was consumed in and around Beilngries, through various large-scale construction projects. Firstly there was the Main-Danube Canal, which required the use of modern excavation crews. Over 10 years, these large areas, which have already been processed partially today, were examined. The industrial parks, construction areas, road construction and urban redevelopment demanded archaeologists, to constant documentations - until today.

A large and significant excavation took place in 1988, on the foremost mountain spur of Hirschberg Castle, where foundations of a mighty round tower were rediscovered.

Sie befinden sich hier

Inhalt

Forschungsgeschichte zur Archäologie der Region Beilngries

Die archäologische Forschung setzte in Beilngries früh ein. Ende des 18. Jahrhunderts war der gebürtige Beilngrieser Dr. Franz Anton Mayer tätig, dann um 1900 der Medizinalrat Dr. Theodor Thenn. 1964 erschien eine archäologische Ortschronik von Professor Dr. Walter Torbrügge. Umfangreiche Grabungen wurden in neuerer Zeit im Zusammenhang mit dem Bau des Rhein-Main-Donau-Kanals durchgeführt.

Dr. Franz Anton Mayer

Pionier der Archäologie in Bayern

Priester, Ausgräber und Forscher am römischen Limes

Ein Sohn der Stadt Beilngries

Franz Anton Mayer wurde im Juli 1773 in Beilngries als ältestes Kind von Franz und Margareta Mayer, geb. Frueth, geboren. Er wuchs im Ziegler-Anwesen auf. In den 80-er Jahren kam er ins Priesterseminar nach Eichstätt, wo er Kontakt zu Prof. Ignatz Pickel bekam. Im Jahr 1788 nahm er offenbar an Ausgrabungen eines Grabhügels in der Waldabteilung Pelzerfelder bei Pietenfeld /Weißenkirchen teil. 1791 war er beteiligt an der Ausgrabung von 4 Grabhügeln im Walde westlich von Beilngries. Hierüber berichtet er seinem Mentor Pickel ausführlich. In Rom, wohin ihn der Bischof zum Studium geschickt hatte, erwarb er 1795 den Doktortitel und sammelte umfangreiches historisches Wissen, insbesondere zur römischen Numismatik. Sein Hauptwerk ist die „Genaue Beschreibung der unter dem Namen Teufelsmauer bekannten römischen Landmarkung“. Als Pfarrer von Gelbelsee hat er den bayerischen Anteil am Rätischen Limes begangen und detailliert beschrieben.
Pickel nahm eine Reihe von Grabhügeluntersuchungen vor, über die er jeweils genauen Bericht erstattete. Nach seiner Zeit in Gelbelsee wurde er Pfarrer von St. Walburg in Eichstätt. Seine letzten Lebensjahre verbrachte er in München, wo er am 4. Mai 1854 starb und auf dem südlichen Friedhof bestattet wurde. Seine Sammlung vermachte er dem Königreich Bayern. Die archäologischen Funde sind heute in der Archäologischen Staatssammlung verwahrt.

Ziegler-Anwesen
Das Ziegler-Anwesen in Beilngries. Gemälde des Geburtshauses von Dr. Franz Anton Mayer
Handschriftliches Schreiben
Handschriftliches Schreiben des Studiosus Franz Anton Mayer an seinen Lehrer in Eichstätt, Prof. Ignatz Pickel. Am 6. Oktober 1791 kündigt er darin seine Teilnahme an Untersuchungen von Grabhügeln in Walde bei Paulushofen an.
Handschriftliches Schreiben
Handschriftliches Schreiben
Kupferstich Grabhügel
Kupferstich aus einem Werk von Franz Anton Mayer mit Funden aus einem Grabhügel im Walde bei Irfersdorf
Biografie des Franz Anton Mayer
Biografie des Franz Anton Mayer von Anton Gäck
Grabstein des Franz Anton Mayer
Grabstein des Franz Anton Mayer auf dem südlichen Friedhof in München

Nach oben

Medizinalrat Dr. med. Theodor Thenn

Grabplatte Dr. Thenn
Grabplatte des Ehrenbürgers Dr. Theodor Thenn und seiner Frau auf dem Beilngrieser Friedhof

Als sich Theodor Thenn in Beilngries niederließ, hatte er bereits einschlägige Erfahrung im Ausgraben von Denkmälern. In das Jahr 1897 sind die ersten Aktivitäten in Beilngries zu datieren, 1899 waren es erstmals Gräber der Hallstattzeit, die sein Interesse auf sich lenkten. Kontakt gab es von Anfang an  mit der Prähistorischen Staatssammlung, aber die Zusammenarbeit gestaltete sich schwierig. Bis zum Jahr 1917 hob Thenn nach Recherchen von Walter Torbrügge mehr als 100 Gräber der Hallstattzeit aus. An anderen Funden hatte er zwar Interesse, verfolgte diese aber nur von Fall zu Fall. So führte er in manchen Höhlen Probegrabungen durch oder legte die Bestattungen eines Reihengräberfeldes „Im Oehl“ frei.

Nach oben

Biografie Theodor Thenn - nach Walter Torbrügge

Theodor Thenn
Theodor Thenn

Theodor Thenn wurde am 28. Januar 1842 in Augsburg geboren, studierte in Erlangen und Berlin Medizin, promovierte 1867 in Erlangen mit der Note 1 und bestand nach kurzer Assistenzzeit am Krankenhaus Augsburg 1868 das Staatsexamen in München mit der Gesamtnote II. Von 1869 bis 1875 ließ er sich nacheinander in Bobingen, Landkreis Schwabmünchen, Göggingen, Landkreis Augsburg und Unterschwaningen, Landkreis Dinkelsbühl, als praktischer Arzt nieder. Dann blieb er bis 1889 in Wassertrüdingen, Landkreis Dinkelsbühl, wo er zugleich das Amt eines bezirksärztlichen Stellvertreters übernahm. Beilngries war seine letzte Station. Am 15. Juli 1889 erhielt er hier seine Bestallung zum Bezirksarzt 1. Klasse, wurde 1905 mit dem Titel eines Medizinalrates ausgezeichnet und am 25. Mai 1915 unter allerhöchster Anerkennung seiner Verdienste in den dauernden Ruhestand versetzt. Die Achtung seiner Mitbürger gewann er jedoch weniger durch außergewöhnliche Leistungen als durch redliche Pflichterfüllung nach bestem Wissen und Gewissen. Er starb als Ehrenbürger der Stadt nach längerem Leiden am 4. November 1919 in Beilngries.

Nach oben

Theodor Thenn war weder Historiker noch Archäologe. Wenn man heute rückblickend die Tätigkeit früherer Ausgräber bewertet, so fällt das Urteil nicht gerade schmeichelhaft aus. So hat auch Heinrich Schliemann in Troja mehr zerstört als dokumentiert. Theodor Thenn würde man heute als „Auftragsraubgräber“ bezeichnen. Denn nach den Unterlagen war er geschäftstüchtiger Verkäufer seiner Grabungsfunde. Heute sind diese in der Archäologischen Staatssammlung verwahrt. Ausführlich berichtet Walter Torbrügge in seiner Publikation von 1964 über die Tätigkeiten von Theodor Thenn (s. Literatur)

Nach oben

Walter Torbrügge 1964

Bilanz der Fundlandschaft von Beilngries durch Walter Torbrügge

Als der Prähistoriker Walter Torbrügge seine Arbeiten zur Hallstattzeit und zur Bronzezeit in der Oberpfalz verfasste, ergab sich eine Gelegenheit, die Fundlandschaft um Beilngries als Monografie herauszugeben.
Er unterzog sich dieser verdienstvollen Arbeit und fasste alle Informationen zusammen, die er bis zum Jahr 1964 zusammentragen konnte. Im Grunde genommen ist diese Publikation eine erste Präsentation von „Exponaten“, die dinglich vor Ort ja nicht mehr verfügbar, nicht mehr „betrachtbar“ waren.

Walter Torbrügge
Walter Torbrügge (1923 - 1994)

Nach oben

Main-Donau-Kanal, Industriegebiete, Altstadtsanierung

Fundament des Rundturms Schloss Hirschberg
Fundament des Rundturms am vordersten Bergsporn von Schloss Hirschberg

In den 70-er Jahren zeichnete sich in und um Beilngries ein umfangreicher Flächenverbrauch durch verschiedene Großbaumaßnahmen ab. An erster Stelle stand dabei der Main-Donau-Kanal, der den Einsatz moderner Grabungsmannschaften erforderte. Über 10 Jahre hinweg wurden diese großen Flächen untersucht, die teilweise heute schon bearbeitet sind. Auch die Gewerbegebiete, Baugebiete, der Straßenbau und innerstädtische Sanierungen forderten Archäologen zu beständigen Dokumentationen – bis heute.
Eine große und bedeutende Ausgrabung fand 1988 auf dem vordersten Bergsporn von Schloss Hirschberg statt, wo Fundamente eines mächtigen Rundturms neu entdeckt wurden.